My Relationship with a cloud

A lonely white cloud was hanging in the canvas of the horizon few hours from the birth of the day. I came out of my home after a subconscious journey called sleep and ready for a selfish materialistic journey called Career.

My mind was clear like the days’s sky devoid of  clouds except for the lonely cloud starring at the vast expanse  of space looking  for some meaning  for existence.

2475418083_216aef9390_b

The sun’s rays had a unobstructed peaceful journey painting the earth with a infant yellow. The yellow gets adulterated with the red and green  of earth and the blue of the sky. Illuminating the shy lonely cloud with backlight which transformed the cloud into a jewelled bride.

The golden smoke caught the attention of my eyes. The cloud was trying to befriend me. I ignored the gaze and got into the bus. The fast paced world seemed faster when i looked out of the window .Seeking refuge from the cruel world  lifted my head towards the still sky. There was not much activity. I wanted to be a bird crisscrossing the blue expanse and look down mockingly at the mayhem below.

Then i saw the clenched fist shaped cloud, which had moved away from the horizon. Is it following me?   It was like the cloud was speaking to me. I wanted to listen bored of communicating with the unreliable humans. The cloud has changed its form unclenching its fists intuiting my yearning for peace.

Pure love is hard to find nowadays. I can see the innocence in the cloud’s whiteness. Cloud was like a woman who has still preserved the innocence of a girl. The excited cloud was moving  performing a dance form whose meaning i couldn’t decipher. It changed form from a unclenched fist to a winged bird, maybe  a metaphor for getting released from the clutches of a closed mind.

I was not sure.

2470333861_b0c0ed0ca3_b

After travelling for a distance the cloud which had kept its pace with the bus slowed down a bit.And i could sense the panic.I could notice that the clear sky was sprinkled with small clouds with a dark shade to it.

The cloud has lost its solitude

Slowly more clouds with a evil black shade came into the playground . The white cloud has made up its mind and it started racing in symphony with the bus. In the process of which it collided with the other black clouds. The bruised black cloud kept its pace.

The white cloud was in the form of a duck bending into the water looking for fish. It wanted to communicate something to me. Maybe calling for help, but i was helpless. The bus climbed over a hillock and i could see dark monsoon clouds were piling up at the horizon .I wanted the cloud to move in the opposite direction. But i realised that if it goes against the wind it will be blown into pieces.

I wanted to save my travel companion. But i know how insignificant i am before nature. My heart pumped blood at a faster rate. The bus came to a standstill. By the time the villainous clouds have high jacked the sun. It was becoming dark. I got out of the bus and got into the office campus. I was maintaining eye contact with the cloud.

I know the fate of the cloud. It stopped and was having the last laugh. Fast moving dark clouds had already encircled the white cloud. For the first time in my life, i saw a cold blooded death. The dark clouds devoured the virginal innocent white cloud.

It was a sad spectacle. I could hear the sound of rain drops smashing on the ground. I stood there wondering which of the rain drops is the messenger of the white cloud. It might have sent a message to me. I had to move on and plunge into the practicality of life which has already eroded away the essence of my life.

But i can never forget the white cloud

That was the shortest non cynical emotional relationship i ever had and will ever have.

3099268247_76b2928ca8_b

~ by Prasanna Sekar on August 1, 2009.

Leave a comment